Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Five Years March 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 10:26 am

Depending on who where you dig up the information, sometime this week is the anniversary of the start of the war in Iraq.  I know that there have been a lot of people killed, a lot of lives torn apart, families that are no longer complete.  My younger son was a little over a month old when the war started, and my first thought was that this was a war that he could potentially fight in when he got old enough.  That scares the crap out of me. 

In these five years, I haven’t seen much change.  I’ll admit that I don’t meticulously read every news article or watch every news story about the war; even so, I don’t see much change.  More suicide bombings, more of our soldiers and their people killed, more stories of children needing medical care because they got caught in the crossfire.  But it doesn’t seem like anything is really getting better for anyone involved.

I’m not pretending that my opinion is the only one that counts, or is even the right one.  I just wish that it wasn’t 5 years later and we’re still essentially in the same place we were then. 

