Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Sunlit Photos February 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 1:53 pm

The sun has made its appearance, so here are some pics!


 “Star of the Day” Hat by I’m Knitting as Fast as I Can.  Rowan “Wool Cotton” in Khaki.  An interesting little top-down hat that I will probably make again.  I modified the pattern by joining the first round and knitting one plain round before starting the pattern in the top of the hat.  I also omitted the i-cord cast-off because I couldn’t figure out how not to make it look like arse, so I knit a bit of stockinette and cast off with a needle 2 sizes larger.  It works.


“Sweet Baby Hat” by Gros and “Christine’s Baby Booties”, pattern found at Fuzzy Galore, or can be found behind the counter at some knitting stores.  This is my go-to baby bootie pattern as it takes little time (about an evening) and little yarn (one skein of Lorna’s Laces “Shepard Sock” makes at least 2 pair with ties).  The hat is a new pattern for me, but it was very fun.  It took maybe half a skein of the “Shepard Sock” for both the hat and the ties.  It’s fairly straight forward and well-written.  I would suggest using stitch markers as it’s easy to forget how many stitches between decreases after initital increase/decrease rows.  The front of the hat will come down a bit over baby’s forehead and sides will cover baby’s ears a bit, or so it seems from the pattern.  I haven’t seen this hat on a baby in person, so these are my hopes.  The colorway is “Icehouse”.  I modify my baby booties by slipping the first stitch of each sole row to make it easier to pick up stitches later.  On the hat, I added a few additional increase/decrease rows to make sure that the hat was long enough for the recipeint, little cousin E, born at a solid 8lbs 13 oz. 

**Links to either the books or free patterns that I use can be found in the sidebar under “finished projects”. 

 

Leave a Reply

