Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

A Trial of Errors May 9, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 3:25 am

So, this great gal I know who owns a yarn shop is birthing a new (hopefully!) knitter in the next month or so. I had this great idea to make her crocheted baby sandals in size 10 thread. Don’t freak out too much about the size 10 thread part, the thread I prefer to tat in is 20 or 30. My tatting instructor and idol tats in size 80 or smaller.

But I detract from the story.

So, I have this great idea to crochet baby sandals. I crochet the cute little flower. I crochet the top of the sandal. I crochet the sole. I go to line up the sole with the top of the sandal. Problem: sole is about 1/2″ shorter and 1/4″ or so narrower than the top of the sandal. Well, crap!

On to the next! I have some fantastic 3-ply yarn that I used for my MIL’s Horcrux socks. Wouldn’t the pinks just be adorable on some baby booties. So I choose the baby booties from Last Minute Knitted Gifts. In the book, the booties are worked in angora. It’s apparent after the first bootie is mostly completed of why the booties are worked in fuzzy angora with a halo: the booties have a most FUNKY design. Murphy (as in Murphy’s Law): 2, Me: 0, zip, nada.

I decide to move away from the eminent arrival’s feet and go to what I know best: heads. Interweave’s “Knitting Daily” just put out this adorable vine lace baby hat pattern. 3-ply yarn is re-routed to this hat. It’s cute, but a wee bit short. Will work for about the first month, maybe less. But, AHA!, I have a fantastic skein of ArtYarns Supermerino in light varigated greens (which the mother of the intended recipient is fond of). Vine lace hat 2 is currently on the needles as I type.

This is just another normal day in my life. I just thought it’d be good for a few laughs out there.

 

2 Responses to “A Trial of Errors”

  1. Knot Another Hat Says:

    Karen! You poor thing – but that is so sweet! Can’t wait to see what turns out! 🙂

  2. heather t Says:

    Hey, commenting on a post from way back, but I have made those booties from Last Minute several times. The way I do them now is pretty heavily modified from the written pattern. Even as written, they turn out pretty cute, even if you make them in regular old worsted weight, like I do. So I’d say give them another try some time.

    And that inside-out dpn method? I LOVE it. You can make all kinds of little pouches, purses, kid-size slippers, etc. with just a little math. I call it the Magic Pouch, lol.


Leave a Reply

