Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

The Good, The Bad, and The Fiber January 29, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 4:08 am

We all know who this is in the photo. She’s wearing “the wedding shawl” and yes, it is even more beautiful in person than on her blog. I look pregnant due to having my camera bag shoved in my sweatshirt pouch, but one does what one can.
Sarah decided that we needed to go to the Madrona Fiber Arts Festival and get our books signed, so we dumped some kids and spouses and ran for it. As we were walking in to the hotel, we saw Stephanie in a small meeting room and almost turned ourselves in to little window suction cup creatures, squealing “that’s THE Yarn Harlot! She’s right there!!!” We kept walking and then turned around and there she was walking a way behind us. Sarah asked me if she thought she would mind if Sarah ran up to her and just gushed and hugged her. I believe I said something along the lines of “don’t tackle the Yarn Harlot.” We got our books signed, met a fun new blogger in the Port Orchard area, and purused the marketplace.

So, that was obviously The Good. The Bad is that my father has confessed something that is very upsetting to myself and my mother. My parents have been divorced about 22 years, but they’ve stayed close, and this was just a BIG change in the world as we’ve known it for like the last decade. I feel horrible. I can’t do anything for my mom to help her hurt less and to heal. I feel like I can’t do anything for her. But being a knitter, I’ve decided that there’s one thing I can do to at least keep my mind from going nuts and keep her warm: I can knit her socks. I can’t fix the problem, I can’t run away from life and take her with me, but I can knit her socks.Which leads in to The Fiber. Above is Blue Moon Fibers Sock Candy in Velvet Moon colorway. I plan to knit my mother footie socks in this since it’s cotton and elastane. I’m burnt out on Cascade Fixation and I’m not really loving the Cherry Tree Hill North Country Cotton socks I’m working on. The Cherry Tree Hill is just cotton, no elastic, so it doesn’t really give a whole lot.

My other purchase was a skein of Handmaiden Sea Silk in a lovely, kind of french vanilla color. It’s for me, a little neck shawl thingy to wear in the European style. I have some gift certificates for clothing and I think I need to look at updating my look a bit. After all, handknit shawls don’t really go with sweatshirts that you’ve had longer than your children…
Some of you might be saying “but wait, didn’t she say she was on a no-yarn spree until April 1st?!” I had planned to go to Madrona, see the Yarn Harlot, walk around the marketplace and then just jot down what I liked and make my purchases after the self-imposed yarn moratorium. My husband had a different idea. He said take some mad money, buy a little bit, be happy, you’ve had a crappy week and you need some lovin’ and this is what I can do for you right now. So technically this isn’t really stash, the projects are planned. I ordered Fiber Trends Flower Basket Shawl for the Sea Silk and will probably just use Mom’s Fast Florida Footies pattern for the Sock Candy.

 

4 Responses to “The Good, The Bad, and The Fiber”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Hey! That’s me behind that camera.

  2. Sachi Says:

    This is me waiving “Hi!” 😉 I’m still freaking out a bit. How about you two?

  3. Stephanie Says:

    You know, you could have tackled me if you wanted too. There was lots of yarn to break the fall!

    Nice to meet you.

  4. Sarah Says:

    Sorry that you got some bad news recently. Hopefully time will do its job as the great healer and you will all feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

