Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Today’s entry brought to you by the letter P January 3, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 10:40 pm

I saw this at January One who was tagged by another. A list of 10 aspects in your life beginning with a random letter assigned to you. Since I’m doing this without being tagged, I’ll copy the letter P. Hmm, let’s see how I do.

1. Potty Training. My littlest is almost 4, and is resisting all efforts of becoming a diaper-free child. Probably TMI, but I’m a stay-home mom.

2. Potholes. If you live the Seattle area, you know what I’m talking about. The huge holes on the streets that look like they can swallow whole Metro buses. The sneaky smaller ones that make you dribble your drink down yourself.

3. Procrastination. I’m a great procrastinator. Just ask the hordes of people waiting for handknit things promised months ago.

4. The 7 P’s. Proper Prior Planning Prevents P— Poor Performance. Learned it from a co-worker of my husband’s who was in the military. Straight, simple, and to the point. I try to follow it.

5. Perfection. Not here, that’s for sure. I like my knitting to look neat, but I’m bad at making proper gauge swatches prior to starting projects.

6. “Pretty in Pink”. One of my favorite movies of all times. Of course, I’m fond of most John Hughes movies from this era.

7. Patterns. Love ’em if they’re well-written, not so much if they’re vague. I’m not really brave enough yet to design my own, but if a pattern’s well-written, I can tink with it forever and a day.

8. Pictures. I don’t think I look good in photos, even when disregarding the extra weight I have. I can count on one hand the number of photos that I’ve ever been happy with. This would be the reason my profile has a butterfly frog instead of a pic.

9. Plastic. Plastic has it’s uses, like debit cards for those of us who don’t carry cash. But not for grocery bags. I can’t count the times I’ve seen them flying down the road at me or waving shredded from trees.

10. Pullman, WA. I went to WSU from 96-02, didn’t graduate. But I did meet my husband and start my family there. And even now, four and a half years later, I still think of it as “home”. I liked the way it was bigger than my hometown, smaller than a major city, and Summer was the calm season.

Bonus P: Project. I have completed the Fiber Trends Baby Basics pattern. It’s now drying and waiting to be photographed.

If you read this and decide it’s fun, my letter to you is L.

 

3 Responses to “Today’s entry brought to you by the letter P”

  1. Karen S. Says:

    I was very frustrated as well with potty training. When I was researching potty training a common theme seemed to be praise and positive reinforcement. I came across a website called http://www.pottytrainingrewards.com. We hung it in the kitchen and named the little boy on the front of the package, Bobby. My son could not wait to go to the potty so he could push the button, hear the praising message, and get his chocolate reward from, Bobby. It really got my son excited about using the potty himself and it was fun for him. Because he became so involved, potty training was easy. So give it a try.

  2. Karen Says:

    Thanks for the suggestion, Karen S. I’ll take a look!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    The Secret’s OUT–Potty Parties are IN!!

    Check out the new best seller in it’s 6th printing…Potty Train Your Child in Just ONE Day: Proven Secrets of the Potty Pro. Download a free tip sheet or ask your potty training question at: http://www.thepottypro.com

    Who would have thought potty training could be so fun!

    Party ON!


Leave a Reply

