Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Mother of the Year, and not in a good way September 13, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 1:58 am

Have you seen this?! Lowdown: mom smokes pot with tween-age son to reward him for doing his homework. What’s next, crack for passing the driving exam?

Okay, so maybe I’m a bit critical when it comes to things like this. I grew up in a very small town, lived with my mom and grandparents, and my mother is a nurse. I got lectured about the pitfalls of alcohol, drugs, and smoking (well, the smoking via my grandparents who were smokers), saw what happened to the kid in my class who tried to be the local underage pot dealer (can we say ‘jail’), and saw how fried a friend of the family was after many years of “mary jane” (went from graduating college with top honors for architecture to being one step above homeless). The fact that a mother would willingly give her child pot for something as small as doing his homework just really blows my mind. What happened the heck happened to society?

I realize that I have young children and things will probably be different when they’re older. And I’m not above saying that while I didn’t do drugs, I did drink underage, but I didn’t drive when I did it and I knew exactly who was around me when I did. But you won’t see me offering drugs to my kids just to pursuade them to do their homework. Summer school may suck, but it does less damage than other things out there.

I’ll get off my soapbox now.

 

One Response to “Mother of the Year, and not in a good way”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    psssh nonsense…. my dad let me drink beer when I was a kid… and look at me… I turned out alright 😉
    ~Charity


Leave a Reply

