Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Sundara’s Petal Collection June 28, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 1:07 am

For my birthday present to myself, I enrolled in Sundara Yarn‘s Petals Collection (I used Sundara Yarn for the mitered heart satchet, too). Every 2 months, you get 2 skeins of hand-dyed sock yarn in a colorway not available on her website, and a pattern for socks using that colorway. This is the first shipment.
Isn’t it beautiful?! It’s just so lovely and squishy and the sock is neat and has a heel and toe I have yet to try. Another cool thing: the pattern is written for DPNs, magic loop, AND using 2 circular needles and has been test knitted in all 3 ways**. How freakin’ cool is that?! Sign-up for the collection is closed, so I’m glad I got in when I did. Keep a lookout for Calla Lily socks in the next few weeks.
**Edit: Sundara left a comment and said that she wrote the pattern without knitting it, and had a DPN knitter test knit it. Sundara happens to do socks on 2 circulars, so she knows the numbers are right. Is there anything this woman can’t do?!

 

5 Responses to “Sundara’s Petal Collection”

  1. Sundara Says:

    Oh, you are so sweet!! I’m thrilled you like it, but I must be honest that the pattern was only test knit for the DPNs. I should have been more clear. I wrote the pattern without actually knitting it, and had a friend test knit it. She’s a DPN knitter, so she used those instructions. I’m a 2 circular knitter, so I’m pretty sure the instructions are accurate. I know the numbers are, as they are the same as for the DPNs. As for magic loop, it is basically the same as two circulars, so I figure it the same instructions should be fine. I hope you enjoy the yarn and knitting the socks!

  2. Sarah Says:

    Oh that is just beautiful!!!!!!

  3. Emma Says:

    So. Gorgeous.

  4. Emma Says:

    Thanks for the felted fish tip. I’ll check it out. I bought 4 skeins of the Shimmer for my Clapotis, and since I held it doubled, I used two full skeins and probably a little over half each of the other two. Does that make sense?

  5. Heatherly Says:

    LOVE THE COLOURS!


Leave a Reply

