Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Holy Yarn and Leaping Lizards! May 30, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 4:16 am

We went to my mom’s house this weekend to help her celebrate her 50th birthday, which is today, actually.
Colt proved himself once more to be the great white lizard hunter. His prey was a lovely little blue-throated guy who let us check him out for a few minutes before we let him go to his home in the rock wall.
I finished the branching out! I finished it, weaved in ends, washed it in SOAK, and blocked it before we left today. It took a little over 1 and 1/2 skeins of Frog Tree sport weight alpaca, but isn’t she lovely? And how perfect to actually finish on mom’s birthday.
I got cash for my birthday. I picked up the summer IK and found that the brioche stitch tank top would have broke the bank, but that the lotus blossom tank was within reason. So, I debated between a lovely crimson color or the varigated aquas above. You can see who won. And I got it for half price. Yup, you read right, half price. The store owner, who is the coolest by the way, had a sale a few weekends ago and somehow did not return the yarn to full price in the computer. I offered, twice!, to pay full price, but she wouldn’t hear of it, so I got 4 skeins for the price of 2. And it was in Oregon, so no nasty sales tax!
This, and his fellow skeins, will turn into a great vest for hubby, once the pattern gets here and I finish baby hats (ha ha ha). I’ve chosen a simple v-neck sweater vest. The fantastic thing, it was $3.50 a skein. It was a great weekend for my knitting expansion expedition.

 

One Response to “Holy Yarn and Leaping Lizards!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Your Branching Out looks fantastic! Now you need one for yourself! 🙂 — Secret Pal


Leave a Reply

