Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

What to do, what to do… February 20, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 4:51 am

My mother came up last weekend for ds#2’s birthday. I was browsing through a Patternworks catalogue, and she asks what I’m looking at. I tell her yarn, and she’s like “nah, think I’ll pass.” Two minutes later, she hijacks it from me, finds a lace book in it, and starts going “OOOOOHHHHHH!” I tell her it’s just a book, she says she wants something in lace. So I show her Knitty’s “Branching Out” pattern, and she’s all over it.

Okay, so now we have a pattern. Now comes the BIG problem: my mom is allergic to wool, cashmere, angora, and mohair. And of course, both sample branching outs were made in wool and mohair. So we go hunting on-line for potential fixes. I fall in love with an alpaca and silk blend that goes for about $30 a skein. Mother loses it. “THAT’S TOO EXPENSIVE!” Okay, onward and upward, careful to NOT tell her what they cost unless they notice. But I’m just not finding anything that floats my boat.

I got some Berroco Cotton Twist from the Seattle Yarn Gallery last week, but I was hesitant because of the gauge. So Thursday I decide to go to the Knittery to hunt some more. Just two blocks from the shop, I get rear-ended at a stoplight. At least no one was seriously hurt and it was only two cars. At last I get to the store, and after almost an hour of hunting and feeling and torturing my mind, I find Frog Tree Alpaca Wool, 100% alpaca. Lovely color, although not as lovely as the Cotton Twist color. It’s not going to be a wippie for a bit, but I needed some yarn therapy after last week with the husband down, getting hit, and having to go to the chiropractor myself for neck and shoulder issues. At least I can still knit.

 

Leave a Reply

