Knotty-K

Knitting knots around the family.

Politically Peeved February 8, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — knottyk @ 7:06 pm

I am the mother of a kindergartener. I am the mother of a kindergartener in a state that rates 43 out of 50 for educational compensation. My son goes to school in a poorer school district in the Seattle area where the teacher has 47 students between the morning and afternoon sessions. And to add injury to insult, she has lost 1 hour of aide time per session (and that wasn’t much to begin with) because she lost 2 students in each session.

Oh, yes, I’m on my soapbox here. I’m tired of people whining about public schools and how bad of a job they’re doing, but the same whiners aren’t voting for the levies, participating in PTA or similar associations, or even giving an hour a week of volunteer work so they can see what is really going on. Yes, I DO volunteer at least one session a week (2.5 hours). And I do it with little brother in tow. I participate in the PTA, and have volunteered at school events. When it comes time to vote, you can bet your buns that I’ll be at the voting location voting “Yes”.

I realize that I’m a stay-home parent. But how hard is it to find out if your child’s teacher needs help in the classroom, or even filing help after school? How hard is it to become more involved in your child’s life so that you can make sure that they’re getting the best education they can? How hard is it to just freaking care?!

Okay, stepping off of my soapbox now. Thank you for your audience.

 

Leave a Reply

